Mrs. Myers
2007/2008


Links for students

Author Research

Jan Brett-- http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/brett.htm

http://www.janbrett.com

Marc Brown-- http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-brown-marc.asp

http://arthurworldwide.com/meetmarc/index.html

Eric Carle-- http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html

http://www.carolhurst.com/newsletters/24dnewsletters.html

http://content.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=3234

Beverly Cleary-- http://www.beverlycleary.com/beverlycleary/index.html

http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/clearybio.htm

Roald Dahl-- http://www.roalddahl.com

Tomie dePaola-- http://www.tomie.com/main.html

http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/depaola.htm

Dr. Suess (Theodor Geisel)-- http://www.carolhurst.com/authors/drseuss.html

http://www.infoplease.com/spot/seuss1.html

Mem Fox-- http://www.memfox.com/welcome.html

http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/fox.htm

Gail Gibbons-- http://www.gailgibbons.com/more_about_gail.html

http://www.gailgibbons.com

Robert Munsch-- http://robertmunsch.com

http://content.scholastic.com/browse/contributor.jsp?id=3299

Peggy Parish-- http://www.kidsreads.com/series/series-amelia-author.asp

Dav Pilkey-- http://www.pilkey.com/meet-dav.php

http://www.edupaperback.org/showauth.cfm?authid=245

Patricia Polacco-- http://www.patriciapolacco.com

http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/polacco.htm

Margret and H.A. Rey-- http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-rey-ha.asp

http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-rey-margret.asp

Shel Silverstein-- http://www.shelsilverstein.com/indexSite.html

Chris Van Allsburg-- http://www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/features/thepolarexpress/tg/stranger.shtml

http://www.chrisvanallsburg.com/biography.html

Laura Ingalls Wilder-- http://www.lauraingallswilder.com

http://frodo.marshall.edu/~irby1/laura/life.html

Jane Yolen-- http://www.janeyolen.com


Language Arts Links
I can....

a.3.1 identify rhyming words: http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/bll/reggie/index.htm Select different locations (house, street, etc.) and click on the rhyming word.

a.3.5 read text fluently and a.3.6 read passages with tone and expression:
http://www.sunshine.co.nz/nz/kia/books/index.html Select a book to read from the bookshelf. Read online or with a partner.

b.3.1 use context clues to figure out words: http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/multiplemean.htm Multiple choice questions that test your knowledge of different word meanings within a sentence. Harder than it looks!! Submit your answers and get a grade online.
http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/SRW3dcc.htm

Finding the meanings of words within short passages. A little more difficult and with more reading. Can be graded online.

b.3.3 find synonyms and antonyms: Below you will find a variety of matching games to practice with antonyms (opposites) and synomyms (similar to). Enjoy!!
Antonyms:
http://www.quia.com/mc/3974.html
http://www.dositey.com/language/grammar/synonyms_antonyms/antonyms1.htm
http://www.sadlier-oxford.com/phonics/antonyms/antonyms.htm
http://www.kidport.com/Grade3/LanguageArts/Antonyms.htm
Synonyms:
http://www.dositey.com/language/grammar/synonyms_antonyms/synonyms1.htm
http://www.tv411.org/lessons/cfm/vocabulary.cfm?num=2&act=2&que=1

http://www.quia.com/mc/44798.html
http://www.kidport.com/Grade3/LanguageArts/Synonyms.htm
http://www.quia.com/cc/67579.html

http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/ps2syn.htm

c.3.1 give reasons for reading:

c.3.9 use reasons for choosing reading materials

c.3.10 read independently for various purposes

d.3.1 use a table of contents, glossary, and index:

d.3.2 answer who, what, where, when, why and how questions
http://www.brainchild.com/gen/readingtest.asp?study=0&mixed=1&testCatLevelID=183&testname=&catlevelname=Reading%2B%2D%2BGrade%2B3&testCatLevelStrandID=-1&qsName=&testmap=1

http://www.tea.state.tx.us/student.assessment/resources/online/2003/grade3/read.htm

d.3.3 identify and list central ideas and supporting details of informational text:
http://www.beaconlearningcenter.com/WebLessons/GetTheIdea/default.htm
http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/rcmi1.htm
http://www.manatee.k12.fl.us/sites/elementary/palmasola/psmain.htm

d.3.5 follow a set of directions

f.3.1 generate writing ideas by discussion of materials:

f.3.4 use graphic organizers (venn diagrams and webs):
http://www.eduplace.com/graphicorganizer/

http://www.eduplace.com/graphicorganizer/pdf/clusterweb2.pdf




Mrs. Myers' Homepage

Updated January 29, 2008

Website created and developed by Rebecca Myers.
Please contact r_myers@dukes.stark.k12.oh.us for questions or comments
.